





Scott W. DiMauro President

Jeffrey Wensing Vice President

Mark A. Hill Secretary-Treasurer

Patricia Collins Murdock
Executive Director

The OEA will lead the way for continuous improvement of public education while advocating for members and the learners they serve.

225 E. Broad St., Box 2550, Columbus, OH 43216 PHONE: (614) 228-4526 or 1-800-282-1500 FAX: (614) 228-8771 June 20, 2023

The Honorable Jason Stephens 77 S. High St., 14th Floor Columbus, Ohio 43216

Dear Speaker Stephens:

On behalf of the 120,000 members of the Ohio Education Association (OEA), this letter requests a "no" vote on House Bill 68 (HB 68), which was amended in committee to include HB 6.

OEA has long stood for policies that are inclusive of students regardless of race, class, gender, or identity. Athletics and other extracurricular programs provide an important opportunity for all students to learn, grow, and meet their full potential.

HB 68 creates unnecessary regulations that limit student participation on high school and collegiate athletic teams. These proposed regulations conflict with existing policies adopted by the Ohio High School Athletic Association (OHSAA) and the National College Athletic Association (NCAA). Further, these regulations would discriminate against some students by establishing an absolute prohibition on transgender female participation on teams designated only for female participants.

Current OHSAA policy allows transgender female participation on a femaledesignated sports team under certain conditions but does not have an absolute bar on participation for these students. The NCAA policy calls for transgender studentathlete participation policies to be determined by the national governing body of each sport.

OEA recommends the Ohio General Assembly defer to the governing bodies of student athletics and not pass legislation with unnecessary regulations that limit student participation.

Again, I urge a "no" vote on HB 68, which has been amended to include HB 6. Given the importance of this issue this will be a scorecard vote for the OEA.

Sincerely,

Scott DiMauro, OEA President

Scott W. D. Mario

CC: Members of the Ohio House of Representatives