



The OEA will lead the way for continuous improvement of public education while advocating for members and the learners they serve.

December 16, 2021

Dear Local Association President:

The Ohio Education Association will conduct elections early in 2022 to elect state at-large delegates to this year's NEA Representative Assembly (taking place July 2-6, 2022 – location TBD). The OEA is allocated one state delegate position for each 1,000 active members and will provide a stipend to state delegates to offset business expenses incurred during the convention.

The OEA is committed to the principle of proportionate minority participation in all governance activities, as outlined in the Plan to Achieve Ethnically Diverse Representation, which was approved by the OEA Board of Directors at its October 2021 meeting.

If you are interested in running for an NEA state at-large delegate position, please complete the NEA State At-Large Declaration of Candidacy Form along with a biographical sketch of education or union-related activities/accomplishments and return it no later than January 31, 2022 to William Baird, Elections and Conference Coordinator, at the address indicated at the bottom of the form, or by email to neara@ohea.org. You may also use the form to nominate another member for state at-large delegate positions. The form is reproducible.

Please log in to the OEA website at https://www.ohea.org/NEA-RA/ to review and print the following the documents:

- OEA's Proposed Plan to Achieve Ethnically Diverse Representation
- State At-Large Declaration of Candidacy Form (deadline 1/31/22)

For more information on the NEA RA, visit the NEA website: https://ra.nea.org/about/ra-101/

Please contact the OEA Executive Offices at 800-282-1500, ext. 3169 or email neara@ohea.org with questions relative to the NEA Representative Assembly or the election of delegates

Thank you for helping the Ohio Education Association meet its goal to have ethnically diverse representation at the NEA Representative Assembly.

Sincerely.

Scott DiMauro President

Scott Di Wans

