OEA EDUCATION POLICY RESEARCH & MEMBER ADVOCACY - EPRMA

Educator Standards Board Report

The 2019-2020 Educator Standards Board (ESB) began their year in September. New stakeholder members to the board were provided orientation by Ohio Department of Education (ODE) staff along with introductions to the currently serving board members. Annual elections were held resulting in OEA member Kelly Bell being reelected as board chair and OEA Deb McDonald being reelected as chair of the Licensure committee. While all stakeholder representatives are valued for their role, these outcomes maintain the tradition of teachers leading the work of the Educator Standards Board.

The Licensure Committee reviewed proposed changes to Ohio Administrative Code (OAC) 3301-25-01 through 3301-25-08 relating to one and four year educational and student monitor permits. Changes clarified language across all permits and provide portability.

The Standards committee was provided with two informational presentations from ODE. The first shared proposed updates to the standards for Resident Educator Mentors. The second offering was given by the newly trained Regional Data Leads (RDL) which are supported through ODE and located across the state at Education Service Centers (ESC). RDLs have received updated training from EVAAS to support work with value added methodologies as it relates to report cards and evaluation.

Updates have been provided for the following topics: OTES Pilot timeline and feedback to the State Board of Education, revisions for the Ohio Principal's Evaluation System (OPES) and results of the Annual Educator Standards Board (ESB) Report.

2019-2020 OEA ESB Members:

Kelly Bell- *Board Chair* Knox County Career Center

Emily Schweppe Reading Public Schools

Melissa Kendralla South Western City Schools

Rachel Dingess Carrollton Exempted Village Schools

Cassandra Daniels Columbus Public Schools

Shvonne Davis Brunswick City Schools

Debra McDonald- *Licensure Committee Chair* Wayne County Schools Career Center

DESCRIPTION OF THE BOARD MEMBERSHIP SELECTION PROCESS

ORC 3319.60 Educator Standards Board-

The act establishes an Educator Standards Board comprised of 21 members for developing and recommending standards for teachers and principals to the State Board of Education. The members are to be appointed by the State Board within 60 days of the act's effective date as follows:

(1) Ten teachers employed in a school district: three teachers in a secondary school, two teachers in a middle school, three teachers in an elementary school, one teacher in a pre-kindergarten classroom, and one teacher who serves on a local professional development committee. At least one of these eight teachers must be certified by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards. The Ohio Education Association must submit fourteen nominees for these appointments, from which the State Board is to select seven members.

The Educator Standards Board, in response to requests from the State Superintendent and the State Board of Education, provide recommendations upon a multitude of topics including cyclical review of Ohio Administrative Code (OAC) regarding licensure requirements, teacher evaluation, teacher residency, educational standards and the yearly review of teacher candidate performance scores for the Ohio Assessment for Educators (OAE). The Ohio Education Association thanks all of nominees and candidates for their willingness to serve.