Campaign Header
2011-2012 OEA/NEA Award Winners
Twitter Facebook Flickr YouTube RSS Wordpress

Winners of 2013-2014 OEA Awards Announced

Congratulations to all the Award Recipients!

Leah Kasmenn, Euclid Teachers Association – Marilyn Cross Scholarship Award

Amanda Wallace, Steubenville Education Association – John F. Kennedy Scholarship Award

Natalie Passarelli, Ohio Student Education Association -- OSU Main Campus - Jean Kershaw Scholarship Award

Ernestine Davis, Ph.D., East Cleveland  Education Association – Holloways/Human and Civil Rights Award

Patricia Ramion, Brunswick Educational Support Professional Association -- ESP of the Year Award

Ed Schultz, The Ed Schultz Show, MSNBC -- OEA Friend of Education Award

The Marilyn Cross Scholarship was instituted in December of 2002 to honor the memory of Marilyn Cross, past president and revered leader of the OEA. The $2,000 scholarship is presented each year to a career teacher for graduate work in a program directly linked to his/her current area of licensure, must be in need of financial assistance, and must demonstrate a reasonable prediction of success in graduate work.

The John F. Kennedy Scholarship was instituted in November of 1963 at the annual Ohio Education Association Representative Assembly, during which President Kennedy was assassinated in Dallas, Texas.  Assembly delegates took action during the convention to establish the scholarship as an annual memorial to President Kennedy.  The $4,000 JFK Scholarship is presented to an OEA member who is a career teacher enrolled in a graduate level program and in need of financial assistance.

The Jean Kershaw Scholarship was instituted in the fall of 1985 to honor the memory of Jean Kershaw, a long-time OEA employee who served as secretary to 11 OEA Presidents.  The $2,000 Jean Kershaw Scholarship is presented to an freshman, sophomore, or junior student in a five-year program teacher education program or to a senior who has been formally accepted for graduate study in a master's degree of education program at an accredited Ohio college or university and in need of financial assistance. 

The OEA Holloways/Human and Civil Rights Award is presented to an individual OEA member, for outstanding contributions to the promotion or execution of excellent human relations skills and interpersonal relationships as modeled by example.  

The OEA Education Support Professional Award is presented each year to an OEA member whose activities reflect the contributions of education support professionals to public education. 

The OEA Friend of Education Award recognizes a person and/or organization whose leadership, actions, and support have contributed to the improvement of public education on a statewide and/or national level. 

Twitter Facebook Flickr YouTube RSS Wordpress